Economic Offences Wing




The Economic Offences Wing of Tamil Nadu Police consists of three units i.e. Commercial Crime Investigation Wing, Idol Wing and EOW (Financial Institutions). Chronologically speaking the three units came into existence at different points of time.


  • The CCIW was first one to be constituted as per GO.Ms.No.170, dated: 20.01.1971 to investigate offences relating to defalcation of funds in co-operative societies pertaining to 15 departments. This unit is headed by one SP and assisted by 7 DSPs in 7 CCIW Sub-Divisions. Besides, there are 32 CCIW units all over Tamil Nadu, which are headed by Inspectors of Police at field level.
  • Idol Wing CID was created in the year 1983 as per the G.O. MS.No. 2098 Home (Police-IV) Department dated 07.10.1983 to investigate cases of (i) Theft of idols which are declared as antiques. (ii) Theft of idols which are more than 100 years old. (iii) Cases which have State Wide / Inter-State ramification.(iv) Theft of idols whose value is Rs 5 Lac and more. (v) Theft of idols which are of sensitive nature and which are ordered to be taken up by the State Government. This unit is headed by Additional Director General of Police, IW-CID and assisted by IGP, IW-CID and SP, IW-CID.
  • Concerned with the increase in alarming rate of large scale of cheating and fraud committed by several non-banking financial institutions, the Honourable High Court of Madras ordered to form a Specially Dedicated Police Unit under the Economic Offences Wing. While hearing the Company petitions 479 and 480/1999 in M/s. Anubhav Plantations Ltd., based on the above direction of the Honourable High Court, Madras, “Economic Offences Wing II (Financial Institutions)” came into existence from 01.01.2000 as per the Govt. orders in G.O.Ms.No.1697/Home (Court IIA) Dept. dated 24.12.1999.
  • The Economic Offences Wing is headed by IGP Tr. Abhin Dinesh Modak, IPS. The CCIW - CID is under the supervision of SP Tr. K. Palanikumar and the Economic Offences Wing – II is under the supervision of SP Tmt. Vandita Panday, IPS., for EOW.II(Hqrs) and SP Tr. A. Thangavelu,  for EOW.II (Units).


  • The Idol Wing – CID is headed by  ADGP Dr. K. Jayanth Murali, IPS., functioning under the control of IGP Tr. Dr. R. Dhinakaran, IPS., and under the supervision of SP Tmt. R. Ponni, IPS.